International Ice Hockey Federation

On-ice officials named

On-ice officials named

16 refs, 16 linesmen for Worlds in Denmark

Published 21.03.2018 17:47 GMT+3 | Author Martin Merk
On-ice officials named
Aleksi Rantala officiated the gold medal game at the recent Olympics, Antonin Jerabek called the last World Championship final. Photo: Andre Ringuette / HHOF-IIHF Images
The International Ice Hockey Federation has named 16 referees and 16 linesmen who will officiate at the 2018 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship in Denmark.

The 32 on-ice officials were nominated by the IIHF Officiating Committee from a list of 64 candidates and will call the games at the annual World Championship that will take place in May in Copenhagen and Herning.

12 of the 16 nominated referees and eight of the linesmen also officiated at the recent 2018 Olympic Winter Games.

The list of on-ice officials is a mix of veterans and up-and-comping international officials who combine for 74 World Championship participations.

Swiss referee Tobias Wehrli will officiate his ninth World Championship while for Konstantin Olenin from Russia it will be the eighth Worlds and for Czech referee Antonin Jerabek, who called the gold medal game last year, it will be the seventh. The most experiences linesman is Sakari Suominen, who will officiate his seventh World Championship. He was also in the gold medal game last year together with fellow linesman Alexander Otmakhov, who is also back in Denmark.

With referees Mark Lemelin and Aleksi Rantala as well as Suominen, three men from the officiating crew that called the Olympic men’s ice hockey gold medal game last month will also be at the Worlds in Denmark.

The on-ice officials come for 13 different countries. Canada, Finland, Russia and the United States are best represented with four officials each. Also one official from the host country is part of the crew, linesman Rene Jensen, who had his World Championship debut last year.

Click here for the full list of officials for all tournaments.


The on-ice officials at the 2018 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship

Referees   Linesmen  
Lemelin, Mark  AUT Golyak, Dmitri  BLR
Gouin, Oliver  CAN McCrank, Dustin  CAN
Iverson, Brett  CAN Vanoosten, Nathan  CAN
Hribik, Jan  CZE Lhotsky, Miroslav  CZE
Jerabek, Antonin  CZE Jensen, Rene  DEN
Kaukokari, Mikko  FIN Sormunen, Hannu  FIN
Rantala, Aleksi  FIN Suominen, Sakari  FIN
Schukies, Gordon  GER Kohlmuller, Lukas  GER
Gofman, Roman  RUS Kilian, Jon  NOR
Olenin, Konstantin  RUS Lazarev, Gleb  RUS
Wehrli, Tobias  SUI Otmakhov, Alexander  RUS
Kubus, Jozef  SVK Fluri, Nicolas  SUI
Ohlund, Linus  SWE Sefcik, Peter  SVK
Sjoqvist, Mikael  SWE Malmqvist, Andreas  SWE
Mayer, Timothy  USA Davis, Jake  USA
Reneau, Stephen  USA Oliver, Brian  USA


Back to Overview